37 Lawmakers leave governing party

Thirty-seven members of the Nigerian House of Representatives from the governing party APC have officially announced their defection from the party.

Thirty-two of them defected to the main opposition, Peoples Democratic Party PDP, four others to African Democratic Congress (ADC) and one resigned from the party without indicating the party he is joining.

According to the letter read by the Speaker of the House, Mr Yakubu Dogara, the defectors, cited factionalism in the governing party, APC as their reason for defection.

Some of the defectors include; Aminu Shagari from Sokoto State, Ali Madaki from Kano State, Abubakar Kaninke from Kwara State and Aminu Chanchangi from Kaduna State amongst others.

Meanwhile members of the ruling party APC have called on the defectors to denounce their positions.

In a news briefing the APC caucus in the House maintained that the party was still in the majority in the House, stressing that the defectors would be welcome anytime they decided to rejoin the party.

With this new development, APC has 185 members including the Speaker, PDP has 161, APGA has 5 members, ADC has 4 while SDP, LP and AP have one seat each.

The Chairman House Committee on Rules and Business, Mr. Okay Jev from Benue State did not indicate the party he is joining after resigning his membership from the APC.

Similarly, there is a vacant seat from Kogi State, following the death of the Deputy House Leader, Umar Buba Jibrin few months ago.

Source: Voice of Nigeria