Aare Ona Kakanfo installs 21 chiefs across Yorubaland

The Aare Ona Kakanfo of Yorubaland, Chief Gani Adams has installed 21 chiefs �in-council in Lagos.

Adams said that the appointment and installation of the 21 chiefs was to assist him in his assignment as the Aare Onakakanfo .

Aare Ona Kakanfo stated that Yorubaland was vast and that he needed to delegate responsibilities to people across all the Yoruba speaking states since he could not be everywhere at all times.


Chiefs Adams said the restructuring of Nigeria was important for the country to rise above its challenges and stay on the path of progress.

Adams said that restructuring to strengthen all the federating units would accelerate development of Nigeria.

”Solution to the problems bedeviling Nigeria is for the country to adopt restructuring.

We are living with these problems because we are reluctant to retrace our steps and adopt the system that suits he said.


”The people I am installing today as chiefs from everywhere we have indigenous Yoruba people, including Kogi and Kwara, will act for me in their respective domains and handle issues.

”They will interface with their local Obas and traditional chiefs to ensure peace and development in Yorubaland.

”I am not the first Aare to have appointed chiefs. In fact, I am the 13th Aare to have done that.

The only two who did not appoint chiefs were Aare Abiola and Akintola and that was because they were seriously engaged in politics and had limited time, he said.

Adams said that the appointment was to ensure effective service in the interest of the Yoruba race.

He said he would soon appoint a 70-member advisory council to advise him and his chiefs on ways to further move the Yoruba race forward.

He urged the 21 chiefs who, he said, were selected based on their pedigrees, to justify the confidence reposed on them, by serving the people diligently.

Installed chiefs are: Mr Wale Abel (Balogu), Engr. Emmanuel Ajibero (Otun), Mr Segun Dare (Agba Akin),Mrs Oluremi Dare (Yeye Agba Akin),Captain Michael Adeshina (Baarejiroro),Akogun Gani Balogun (Osin), Hon.Akeem Ige (Baameeto), Mrs Ige (Yeye Baameeto), Bar.Kehinde Oluwole (Baamofin), Rt.Hon.Femi Bamisile(Baareseto),Otunba Kole Omololu (Odofin).

Others are Dr Kayode Ajulo (Maiyegun Aare); Mr Ademola Ige (Baameto Aare); Mr Shola Oshunkeye (Baaroyin Aare) Prof. Taofeek Raheem (Parakoyi Aare).Hon.Taofeeq Isa (Baaregunwa),Chief Kamorudeen Lamina (Borokini),Mrs Yewande Green (Yeye Shewa), Alhaja Adiat Ayinke Alao (Iyalaje),Chief Yaqub Aladeshina(Akogun),Bar.Oguntimehin (Asojuaare) and Chief Ebudola Odedina (Fiwagboye).

Source: Voice of Nigeria