Amosun pledges support for Buhari in 2019

As the campaign for the general election which kicked off at the weekend, the Ogun state governor, Ibikunle Amosun has declared his support for the re-election of President Muhammadu Buhari in the forthcoming presidential election in 2019.

Amosun also vowed to work towards ensuring the victory of the governorship candidate of the Allied People’s Movement, AbdulKabir Adekunle Akinlade.

The Governor who made the declaration in Abeokuta, the Ogun stste capital, south west Nigeria, told the leadership and members of the All Progressives Congress in the state the manner at which the national leadership of the party handled the disagreement generated by the outcome of the party primaries, explained that his right man, Akinlade had all his blessings to pursue the mandate freely given to him by the people of Ogun state on any platform of his choice.

Buhari for a second term

The House of Representatives had on 30th November, 2018 announced the defection of Akinlade, currently representing Egbado South and Ipokia Federal Constituency in the House from APC to APM.

Amosun reiterated his support and also gave an assurance that his supporters were ready to work for no other governorship candidate in the state other than Akinlade.

He said he was not ready to hide behind one finger concerning where he stands.

Amosun appealed to his loyalists to only cast their votes for Buhari in other to be part of the South West history that enthrones Buhari for a second term of office.

In the same manner, the governor also told them to vote in the pattern at which they have promised him to do for Akinlade during elections.

Amosun said whenever he would be going out on the field campaigning for Buhari, his loyalists and supporters should not mistake it to mean campaigning for any other governorship candidates other than Akinlade.

He said it is only by doing so that the leadership of his party would know that it is an injustice to subvert the wishes of the people, particularly as expressed in the APC governorship primary held last October 2, 2018.

Meanwhile, the 26 aggrieved APC members who allegedly won tickets for the State House of Assembly but were denied, announced their movement from the party to the APM.

The aggrieved politicians cited impunity within APC as reason for their defection to APM.

The defectors said they contested for the State House of Assembly primary conducted in the state last October 7 and declared winner the following day by the APC National Committee but were shocked that their names were not listed as candidates by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Spokesperson of the group, Lamidi Mosefiu Olatunji, described the exclusion of their names in the INEC’s list as a mystery.

Olatunji also said that it was worrisome that people who were either defeated at the primary or didn’t participate at all, got the APC tickets for elections into the Ogun Assembly.

Olatunji, who explained that his group has chosen to move to APM as candidates for the State Assembly election in 2019 however, vowed to also ensure the governorship candidate of the party, Akinlade emerged victorious in the state.

Source: Voice of Nigeria