BY MIKE EZENWATA : The Anambra State House of Assembly has extended the tenure of chairmen and members of the transition committees of the twenty one local government council areas in the state by three months.

The House which made the confirmation during their plenary session in Awka said it was satisfied with the performance of the members of the transition committee and hence approved the request of the executive for the extension.

Presided over by its speaker Right Honourable Barrister Rita Maduagwu, the lawmakers in its committee of the whole constituted an electoral college to reconfirm the local government executive members who had served their local government areas for three months.

After the screening exercise, the lawmakers took their turns to ratify the list of the chairmen and their members.

In a vote of thanks, the transition chairman for Oyi local government area, Chief Uchenna Okafor promised on behalf of the chairmen to be loyal and dedicated to this jobs.

Speaking to the press on the development, the transition chairman for Awka South local government area Chief Leo Nwuba thanked the state government for considering them to serve the state for another three months.

Chief Nwuba promised that he will do his best to justify his return and further commended Governor Willie Obiano for doing a good job in the state.

On his part, the chairman Ayamelum traditional rulers council and the traditional ruler of Omasi Igwe Benjamin Okeji urged the members of the transition committees to justify the confidence reposed in them by Governor Willie Obiano.

Source: Anambra State Government