Cabinet approves establishment of four private universities

The Federal executive Council has approved the establishment of four private Universities in Nigeria.

Minister of Education, Alhaji Adamu Adamu disclosed this to Journalists while briefing them on the outcome of this week’s cabinet meeting, the first for this year, presided over by President Muhamaadu Buhari.

He gave the names of the approved Universities as Greenfield University Kasarami, Kaduna State, Dominion University, Ibadan, Oyo State, Trinity University, Laloko, Ogun State and Westland University Iwo, Osun State.

The Minister said the four proposed universities have met the requirements of the National Universities Commission, NUC.

All the four have satisfied the criterion for the establishment of universities in Nigeria, they have submitted their academic briefs, their master plan and evidence of facilities. After visitations by NUC, they have satisfied all the requirements and they have been granted licenses to operate,the Minister stated.

Commenting on the ongoing strike by the Academic Staff Union of universities ASUU, the Minister said the matter will soon be resolved. We are very near agreement with ASUU, he said.

Source: Voice of Nigeria