Esan South-Esat Legislative Arm Impeaches Principal Officers

BENIN CITY – The Legislative Arm of Esan South-East local government, Edo State, on Thursday sacked its leader, Hon. Earnest Egwemi, Councilor ward -09 and elected Lucky Ukaki of ward 8 as the new leader.

The arm also impeached its majority leader, Israel Iyanobor and elected Anthonia Iyangbe as the new majority leader.

The principal officers were impeached by seven out of the 10 members of the legislative arm.

Ernest Egwemi, Israel Iyanobor, and Evans Ogbeiye were removed over alleged internal rift and crisis rising from hard handedness.

The former principal officers were also accused anti-party activities and other things in connection with the decedent EPM group which have been proscribed by the party and will remian suspended pending the investigation of allegations leveled against them.

According to a statement from the chief press secretary to the LGA boss, We are not ready to accept or condole anyone who is trying to sabotage the effort being put in place by the state government led by Gov Godwin Obaseki which the LGA boss is implementing.

The house had earlier passed a vote of no confidence on the Ernest Egwemi-led house before the impeachment.

The new house leader Hon Lucky Ukaki and others has since be sworn in by the clerk.

Source: The Nigerian Observer