Ethiopians win 2019 Lagos city marathon

It was a clean sweep for Ethiopia at the 2019 Lagos city marathon as Sintayehu Legese and Dinke Meseret emerged winners of the male and female title respectively.

Legese won in a time of 2:17:28 hours ahead of Kenyas’ Joshua Kipkorir who crossed the line in 02:18:16 hours in second place and William Yegon also from Kenya who finished 88 seconds later to clinch the third position in 2:19:04 hours.

Meanwhile, Nigeria’s Sunday Manasa, who ended the race in sixth place 2:21:11 hours, was the country’s best male performer.

In the female event, the Ethiopians ensured a clean sweep as Meseret, Alemnesh Herepa and Kebena Chala claimed the top three positions.

Meseret was champion in 2:48:02 hours followed more than a minute later by Herepa who crossed the line in 2:49:05 hours and Chala coming third in 2:49:09 hours.

Nigeria’s Deborah Pam was the country’s best finisher in the female category with a time of 2:52:59 hours.

The first, second, and third positions in both the men and women categories went home with $50,000, $40,000 and $30,000 respectively.

The top 10 winners:


1. Sintayehu Legese (Ethiopia) 02:17:28

2. Kipkorir Joshua (Kenya) 02:18:16

3. William Yegon (Kenya) 02:19:04

4. Teshome Girma (Ethiopia) 02:20:11

5. Nichols Kirwa (Kenya) 02:20:57

6. Sunday Gontori Manasa (Nigeria) 02:21:11

7. Moses Kipto Kurgat (Kenya) 02:21:41

8. Geofrrey Birgen (Kenya) 02:21:52

9. Kiprotich Kirui (Kenya) 02:22:10

10. Stanley Kipchirchir Koech (Kenya) 02:24:25


1. Dinka Meseret (Ethiopia) 02:48:02

2. Alemnesh Herepa (Ethiopia) 02:49:05

3. Kebena Chala (Ethiopia) 02:49:09

4. Rodah Jepkorir Tanui (Kenya) 02:50:23

5. Elizabeth Rumokol (Kenya) 02:51:25

6. Badung Deborah Pam (Nigeria) 02:52:59

7. Penniah Kigen (Kenya) 02:53:47

8. Ayelu Abebe Hordofa (Ethiopia) 02:54:09

9. Pauline Wangui (Kenya) 02:55:04

10. Misra Hussein (Ethiopia) 02:56:10

Source: Voice of Nigeria