Federal government appoints board chairmen for 19 education agencies

The Federal government has appointed board chairmen for nineteen education agencies for a period of four years.

In a statement signed by the Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu, the appointment approved by President Buhari was based on the provisions of the respective legislation with respect to composition, competence, credibility, integrity, federal character and geo-political spread.

Those appointed as heads of the boards are Professor Emeritus Ayo Banjo; National Universities Commission, Mr Emeka Nwajiuba; Tertiary Education Trust Fund, Dr Ekaete Obon Okon; National Institute for Educational Planning and Administration.

Others are Dr Mahmud Mohammed; Universal Basic Education Commission, Professor Zainab Alkali; National Library of Nigeria, Dr Abubakar Sodiq; National Examination Council, Dr Gidado Bello Akko; National Commission for Mass Literacy, Adult and Non-formal Education.

Professor Gidado Tahir; National Commission for Nomadic Education, Professor Leonard Karshima; National Business and Technical Education Board, Professor Adamu Baike; Teacher’s Registration Council of Nigeria, Maigari Dingyadi; National Commission for Colleges of Education, Senator Kaka Yale; National Teacher’s Institute, Professor Buba Bajoga; National Mathematical Center.

The Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board is to be chaired by Dr Emmanuel Ndukwe, Mr N.N Nnabuchi; National Institute of Nigerian Languages, Mr Paul Unongo; Nigerian Educational Research and Development Council, Professor Saliba Mukoro; Nigerian French Language Village.

Professor Modupe Adelabu; National Board for Technical Education and Professor O. Oladusi; Chairman of the Nigerian Arabic Language Village.

Source: Voice of Nigeria