Amawbia-Gov. Willie Obiano of Anambra has urged newly inaugurated board of Anambra State Primary Healthcare Development Agency to develop policies for sustainable healthcare delivery across the state.

The governor made the call in line with his administration’s commitment toward providing functional and sustainable healthcare sector in Anambra.

Performing the inauguration at Governor’s Lodge, Amawbia, Gov. Obiano urged them to fashion out sustainable healthcare policies that would solve various health challenges facing people of the state.

The governor, who described healthcare as one of the focal points of his administration, enjoined the board to work hard in ensuring adequate healthcare delivery.

He tasked them to oversee the functionality of the 726 Primary Health centres across the state and ensure that their personnel render efficient service to the people.

I want to remind you that we have procured seven speed boats to facilitate prompt intervention in the hinterland. We also have eight ambulances for such medical purposes.

I want you to ensure the maintenance of facilities in the speed boat and ambulance. We have directed that two cylinders of oxygen be delivered to each of our primary health centres.

So far, we have adequately equipped 63 Primary health centres and we want to upgrade at least two primary health centres in each local government to General Hospitals.

This will go a long way in achieving what we want in the health sector,” Gov. Obiano explained.

Commissioner for Health, Dr Vincent Okpala, who mentioned some achievement made in the health sector urged members of the board to ensure that the vision of the state government was met.

Chairman of the Board, Dr Josephat Ogbuagu commended Gov. Obiano for investing positively in the health sector, promising to leave footprints worthy of emulation.

Other members of the board are Dr Chioma Ezenyimulu as Secretary, Dr Uche Onyejimbe, Dr Eric Anazodo, representing Nigeria Medical Association, Mrs Chinyere Ede, Mrs Franca Nwaigbo, and Mrs Edith Egbuonu.

Also on the board are Permanent Secretaries, Ministries of Health, Local Government, Environment, Information and Women Affairs.

Others include, Mr Sylvester Okafor, representing Anambra North, Mr Chukwudi Orizu, representing Anambra South, Mr George Edozie, representing Anambra Central and Dr Simeon Onyemaechi.

Source: Anambra State Government