Key Issues

Lawan, Omo-Agege emerge as Senate President, deputy President

Abuja Senator Ahmed Lawan, Yobe North, was yesterday announced as Nigeria’s Senate President while Delta Central Senator, Ovie Omo-Agege,who allegedly led thugs to steal mace, emerges Deputy Senate President.

Mr Lawan polled 79 votes to beat his closest rival, Ali Ndume, who garnered 28 votes.

After a secret ballot voting, the clerk to the National Assembly, Mohammed Sani-Omolori, announced Mr Lawan’s victory to the cheers of Senators and others in the chamber as he also said that107 senators cast their votes.

It is my pleasure to announce that Senator elect, Ahmed Lawan, having scored the highest number of total votes cast is hereby returned duly elected as Senate President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, he said.

Former Senate Leader, Mr Lawan is the favoured candidate of the All Progressives Congress(APC).

His nomination was moved in a motion by Senator Yahaya Abdullahi and seconded by Adeola Olamilaken of Lagos West.

Meanwhile Senator Omo-Agege defeated the Former Deputy Senate President in the 8th Senate, Senator Ike Ekweremadu to emerge as the Deputy Senate Senate President.

Senator Ike Ekweremadu was nominated by senator-elect, Chukwuka Utazi while Senator-elect, Rose Oko (Cross River North) seconded the motion for Ekweremadu’s nomination.

Senator-elect for Katsina North, Ahmed Baba Kaita had nominated Omo-Agege while Senator-elect, Niger North, Abdullahi Aliyu Sabi seconded it. DSP Omo-Agege won with 68 out of 107 votes to defeat Senator Ike Ekweremadu of the PDP, Ekweremadu polled 39 votes.

Source: The Nigerian Observer