Nations Cup 2013: Keshi picks 32 for Faro camp

…Leaves out Odemwingie, Martins
Nigeria coach Stephen Keshi has listed 32 players to battle for 23 shirts in the Super Eagles’ squad to the 29th Africa Cup of Nations finals in South Africa, taking place between 19th January – 10th February next year.

Following a meeting with the NFF Technical Committee in Abuja on Friday, where he defended the list, Keshi rolled out a squad containing 14 home-based professionals and 18 overseas-based players.

Skipper Joseph Yobo, who is Nigeria’s record international player with 89 caps, tops the list.

Eagle's coach, Keshi

Eagle’s coach, Keshi

Africa’s football-governing body, Caf has given all 16 teams playing in the final tournament of the 29th Africa Cup of Nations, South Africa 2013 until midnight of January 9 to submit their final list of 23 players for the showpiece.

Following Friday’s meeting, chairman of the NFF Technical Committee, Barrister Chris Green explained that 14 home boys will travel to Portugal to be joined by 10 oveseas-based professionals for the clash with Catalonia on January 2, with the remaining eight foreign-based stars to link up with the squad on January 4.


Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama (Maccabi Tel Aviv, Israel); Austin Ejide
(Hapoel Be’er Sheba, Israel); Chigozie Agbim (Enugu Rangers, Nigeria);
Daniel Akpeyi (Heartland FC, Nigeria)
Defenders: Elderson Echiejile (FC Braga, Portugal); Juwon Oshaniwa
(Ashdod FC, Israel); Benjamin Francis (Heartland FC, Nigeria); Joseph
Yobo (Fenerbahce, Turkey); Efe Ambrose (Celtic FC, Scotland); Solomon
Kwambe (Sunshine Stars, Nigeria); Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves,
Nigeria); Danny Shittu (Millwall FC, England); Kenneth Omeruo (ADO Den
Haag, Netherlands); Godfrey Oboabona (Sunshine Stars, Nigeria)
Midfielders: Mikel Obi (Chelsea FC, England); Nosa Igiebor (Real
Betis, Spain); Ogenyi Onazi (SS Lazio, Italy); Raheem Lawal (Adana
Demirspor, Turkey); Obiora Nwankwo (Calcio Padova, Italy); Fegor Ogude
(Valerenga FC, Norway); Reuben Gabriel (Kano Pillars, Nigeria); Rabiu
Ibrahim (Celtic FC, Scotland)
Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Emmanuel Emenike (Spartak
Moscow, Russia); Brown Ideye (Dynamo Kyiv, Ukraine); Victor Moses
(Chelsea FC, England); Uche Kalu (Rizespor, Turkey); Bright Dike
(Portland Timbers, USA); Shola Ameobi (Newcastle FC, England);
Ikechukwu Uche (Villarreal FC, Spain); Ejike Uzoenyi (Enugu Rangers,
Nigeria); Sunday Mba (Enugu Rangers, Nigeria)

Related Posts

Comments are moderated. Please keep them clean and brief.