Nigeria to know 2017 Women’s AfroBasket opponents

Nigeria’s women basketball team, D’Tigress will on Saturday May 27, know their group opponents of the International Basketball Federation (FIBA) AfroBasket Championship.

The official draw for the Championship will hold in Bamako, Mali @ 18.00 GMT (7pm Nigerian time).

D’Tigress reached the semi-finals of the Championship two years ago in Cameroon where they were defeated 71-70 by the hosts.

The team, coached by Scott Nnaji had campaigned in a Group B that also comprised of Angola, Senegal, Egypt, Guinea and Algeria.

The 2017 edition will hold from August 18th to 27th at the Palais des Sports Salamatou Maiga in Bamako.

The 2017 Afrobasketball Championship also serves as a qualifier for the FIBA Women’s Basketball World Cup 2018 in Spain.

The winners and runners-up will represent Africa in Spain next year which will hold September 22-30, 2018.

This year’s championship will mark the second time Mali will stage the 12-team event.

Mali previously hosted it in 2011 when the home team finished third.

Already the place of 12 teams at the FIBA Women’s AfroBasket 2017 have been confirmed.

Angola, Cameroon, Cote d’Ivoire, Egypt, Guinea, Mali (hosts), Mozambique, Nigeria, Senegal (defending champions) and Tunisia will participate when the championship kicks off in Mali, while one more team will secure its ticket through the remaining qualifier (zone 4), with the final place to be determined through the allocation of a wild card.

Source: Voice of Nigeria