Nigerian Air Force Decorates Promoted Senior Officers

The Nigerian Air Force on Friday decorated its recently promoted senior officers with a total of 16 Air Vice Marshals and 31 Air Commodores in a ceremony in Abuja.

While congratulating the promoted senior Officers at the ceremony which was held at the Nigerian Air Force Centre, the Chief of the Air Staff, Air Marshall Sadiq Abubakar, in his opening remarks said while promotion motivates and inspires others to work harder, it is not only given for good execution of duties, but also in demonstration potential capacity to do more especially at higher levels.

Air Marshal Abubakar stated that with the promotion, the manpower of the Nigerian Air Force has been boosted to tackle contemporary security challenges in the country.

“Promotion no doubt is a management tool that is used to enhance productivity, by recognising hard work, commitment and diligence, in every organization including the military. It equally motivates and inspires others to work harder

“In the military, promotion is usually a painstaking procedure that involves the selection of the best put of all those available for elevation, you have all therefore been found worthy of this advancement,” said the Air Chief.

He enjoined the officers to see the promotion as a new phase in their career in the Nigerian Air Force that puts greater responsibilities on their shoulders.

“I am particularly elated because this ceremony is indicative that the Nigerian Air Force now has a more strategic and analytical mind in our pool of manpower resource to bring to bear their knowledge and experience on how to tackle contemporary security challenges in our nation,” Air Marshal Abubakar said

In his remarks, the Special Guest of Honour at the occasion, Minister of Defence, Retired Major General Bashir Magashi reminded the officers that the nation now relies on them to bring to bear all the knowledge, wisdom, ingenuity and critical thinking capacity they have gathered over the years to foster a greater Nigeria.

He also urged them not to lose the sight of the ongoing fight against terrorism, banditry and all forms of criminalities that is in your mandate to preserve the territorial integrity of Nigeria.

“It is expected that with the ranks of Air Commodore and Air Vice Marshalls, you will continue to rededicate yourselves to the service of a better Nigeria”

“I must also reinstate that the federal government under the able leadership of President Mohammadu Buhari remains committed to supporting the Nigerian Military, the federal government is also poise to provide the services and indeed all security agencies with the required wherewithal in pursuance of their collective mandate of securing the nation”

“We must therefore continue to evolve new strategies to contain these challenges in order to ensure safety and security of our children, the government and people of Nigeria are expecting nothing short of professionalism from you as you discharge your constitutional duties,” said Minister of Defence.

The senior officers promoted comprise of 16 Air Commodores (Air Cdres) promoted to the rank of Air Vice Marshal (AVM), 31 Group Captains (Gp Capts) promoted to the rank of Air Commodores.

Those promoted to the rank of Air Vice Marshalls include Air Commodore Abraham Adole, Tajudeen Yusuf, Ibikunle Daramola, Uchechi Nwagwu, Sani Rabe, Kurotimi Obidake, Nanjul Kumzhi, Kabiru Aliyu, Akanbi Salami, Kabir Umar, Barisi Keenam, Sunday Ogba, Abiola Amodu, Pam Chollom, Mfon Ekpoh and Garba Abubakar.

Among those promoted from the rank of Group Captains to Air Commodores are Garba Jibia, Adebayo Bamidele, Christopher Akpa, Ekele Odekina, Emmanuel Iduh, Sylvester Eyoma, Sampson Eyekosi, Osichinaka Ubadike, Patrick Edem, Garuba Bello, Mukhtar Umar, Olujames Salami, Nosiru Folaji, and Emmanuel Ukpong.

Others promoted to the rank of Air Commodore include, David Dickson, Celestine Akubue, Tiyanu Kamla, Yayirus Lapips, Zakari Dangaji, Musa Abdullahi, Francis Ankeli, Abdullahi Madaki, Ugochukwu Ariahu, Mada Yushau, Ekongubong Akpabio, Isaiah Taiwo, Ali Tanko, Babatunde Bolarinwa, Ayodele Famuyiwa, Gbolahan Oremosu and Ikechukwu Ogbodo.


Source: Voice of Nigeria