Osun Assembly clears Commissioner nominees

The Osun State House of Assembly has cleared 38 out of 39 cabinet nominees submitted to it by the State Governor, Rauf Aregbesola.

This was contained in a statement by the Chairman of House Committee on Information and Strategy, Olatunbosun Oyintiloye.

The statement said the nominees were confirmed by the lawmakers with the exception of Adeola Tejumola.

The Speaker, Mr Najeem Salaam said the coast had been cleared for the Governor to proceed with the swearing-in of the nominees, having found them worthy of confirmation.

Rekindling hope

Salam urged the nominees to operate an open door policy and shun any form of corrupt practices.

He challenged the nominees new ideas to rekindle the hope of the people in the governance of the state.

Salaam stated that the monthly allocation from the Nigerian government could no longer sustain the State and urged the nominees to assist the government to improve its Internally Generated Revenue.

The Governor in a letter dated April 11, forwarded 39 names of nominees for the position of Commissioner and Special Advisers to the State’s Assembly for consideration and confirmation.

Source: Voice of Nigeria