Osun inaugurates judicial panel on police brutality

In line with the presidential directive and in response to the demands of the Nigerian youths, the governor of the Southwestern state of Osun has constituted a 12-man judicial panel of enquiry to investigate the alleged human rights violations of the disbanded Special Anti-Robbery Squad of the Nigeria Police in the state.

Inaugurating the committee in Osogbo, the stage capital, Governor Adegboyega Oyetola said the panel, headed by Justice Akin Oladimeji (Retired) has six months to carry out its assignment.

Voice of Nigeria reports that the panel inauguration was part of the five-point demand of the #EndSARS youths who were seeking a comprehensive reform of the security outfit.

The panel is expected to investigate violations of human rights, evaluate evidence and make necessary recommendations.

They are also to investigate the violent attack against Mr. Governor and his entourage at Olaiya roundabout and two other people who died at two different locations in Osogbo on 17th October, 2020 and make appropriate recommendations.

Oyetola urged the panel to approach the assignment with high sense of responsibility, fairness and integrity so justice would be done.

Consequently, the governor urged members of the public to come out to make presentations to the Panel in the interest of justice, explaining that the method for making the presentations shall be communicated to the public by the Panel.

Oyetola pledged that the recommendations of the Panel shall be implemented to the letter, and with dispatch; in line with the requirements of justice administration and delivery.

With President Muhammadu Buhari’s appeal and the panel in place, the governor urged the youths to give the government a chance to work on their demands by suspending the street protests.

Members of the panel include: Justice Akin Oladimeji (Chairman), Professor Wasiu Oyedokun (Civil Society Organisation), Ismail Abdul Aziz (Chairman National Youth Council of Nigeria, Osun) Professor Grace Akinola (academia), Biodun Layonu, SAN; Abayomi Ogundele (National Human Rights Commission) Mr. Jide Akano (Rtd. DIG. of Police) and Mr. Jumoke Ogunkeyede (Social Activist)

Others are: Teslim Salaudeen (Students – NAOSS), Oluwasegun Idowu (Civil Society Organisation), Abdulrahman Okunade (NBA Chairman, Osogbo) and the Secretary of the panel, Mrs. Kemi Bello (Ministry of Justice, Osun).


Source: Voice of Nigeria