President Buhari approves boards for colleges of education, polytechnics

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the reconstitution of the governing boards of the 21 federal colleges of education in the country.

The Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu, made this known in a statement on Friday in Abuja.

According to him, the boards are statutorily responsible for the governance and overall policy formulation in the institutions concerned.

He stated that in making the appointments of the chairpersons and members of the respective boards, the President, apart from ensuring geopolitical spread, was also guided by the stipulated requirements for such appointments.

The minister explained that appointees were required to be people of impeccable integrity, with a reasonable commitment to teacher education.

The minister says the affected federal colleges of education and their respective chairmen are as follows: Abubakar Galadima; Federal College of Education, Oyo, F.G. Ibrahim; Federal College of Education, Asaba and Alhaji Saidu Isa; Federal College of Education, Osiele-Abeokuta.

Others are S.L. Abubakar; Federal College of Education, Kano, Dr Lawan Bukar; Federal College of Education, Eha-Amufu, Mr Sa’ad Abubakar; Federal College of Education, Okene, Mr Hassan Al-Badawi; Federal College of Education (Technical), Gombe and Prof. Aminu Mikailu; Federal College of Education (Technical), Omoku.

Also on the list are Aminu Gwarzo; Federal College of Education, Kontagora, Dr Bello Lafiagi; Federal College of Education, Zaria, Dr Ibrahim Garba; Federal College of Education, Pankshin and Alex Hartt; Alvan Ikoku College of Education, Owerri.

Some others are Mrs Almona Ise; Federal College of Education, Yola, E.O. Adegbite; Federal College of Education (Technical), Potiskum, Sen. Iyabo Anisulowo; Federal College of Education (Technical), Gusau and Hon. Iheneacho Obioma; Federal College of Education (Technical), Akoka.

Others are Dr Danjuma Sulai; Federal College of Education, Katsina, Ibrahim Bello; Federal College of Education (Technical), Bichi, Dr Anthony Obi; Federal College of Education, Obudu, Prof. N.C. Ohazurike; Adeyemi College of Education, Ondo and Dr Hassan Lawan; Federal College of Education, Umunze.

Adamu said that the new governing boards comprising chairmen and members of the federal colleges would be inaugurated on a date to be announced soon.


Also reconstituted were governing boards of all the 25 Federal Polytechnics in the country.

The minister added that each of the appointees was required to, among others, posses a minimum of a National Diploma and be a person of impeccable integrity with a strong commitment to technical education.

According to him, the affected Polytechnics and their respective Chairmen are as follows: Dr J.T. Orkar, Akanu Ibiam Federal Polytechnic Unwana, Afikpo; Chief Michael Oloko, Auchi Polytechnic, Auchi and Chief Austin Adeze, Federal Polytechnic, Ado Ekiti.

Others are Mrs Yalwa Tahir, Federal Polytechnic, Bali; Alhaji Abubakar Dantata, Federal Polytechnic, Bauchi; Prof. Muhammad Sani Yakya, Federal Polytechnic, Bida; Alh. Mohammed Abubakar, Federal Polytechnic, Damaturu and Prof. Nasir Yauri, Federal Polytechnic, Ede.

Also, Prof. Eddy Olanipekun, Federal Polytechnic, Ekowe; Dr Ibrahim Liman Sifawa, Federal Polytechnic, Idah; Prof. Abubakar Sadauki, Federal Polytechnic, Ilaro; Chief Odey Ochicha, Federal Polytechnic, Ile-Oluji and Prof. Kingsley Alagoa, Federal Polytechnic, Kaura Namoda.

He also appointed Engr. Bassey Usang Bassey as head Federal Polytechnic, Mubi; Prof. Godwin Sogolo, Federal Polytechnic, Nasarawa; Chief Edwin Ogunbor, Federal Polytechnic, Nekede, Owerri; Chief Osekula Zikora, Federal Polytechnic, Offa and Chief Lasbury Amadi, Federal Polytechnic, Oko.

Others are Sen. Ucha Julius, Federal Polytechnic of Oil and Gas, Bonny; Prof.Ike Udabah, Federal Polytechnic, Ukana; Chief Abayomi Daramola, Hussaini Adamu Federal Polytechnic, Kazaure and Alhaji Yusuf Hassan, Kaduna Polytechnic, Kaduna.

Also in the group are: Prof. David Adewunmi, National Institute of Construction Technology, Uromi; Dr Ismail Biodun Layi Oni, Waziri Umaru Federal Polytechnic, Birnin-Kebbi and Mr Lateef Fagbemi, Yaba College of Technology, Yaba.

A date for their inauguration will be announced soon.

Source: Voice of Nigeria