President Buhari inaugurates Code of Conduct Bureau, swears in population commissioners

President Muhammadu Buhari Wednesday inaugurated the Chairman and members of the Code of Conduct Bureau, CCB, and swore-in 23 members of the National Population Commission, NPC.

Both events took place inside the Council Chambers of the State House before the commencement of the week’s meeting of the Federal Executive Council.

President Buhari had, in exercise of his powers as provided in Section 154(1) of Nigeria’s 1999 Constitution (as amended), forwarded the names of the chairman and members of the CCB to the Senate for confirmation.

The inauguration of the CCB on Wednesday followed their confirmation by the Senate on the 17th of October this year.

Chairman of the CCB, Dr. Mohammed Isah from Jigawa State, North West Nigeria and six members of the bureau took the Oath of Office and of Allegiance at the ceremony presided over by President Buhari.

Other members who were also took their oaths were Murtala Kankia from Katsina State; Emmanuel Attah, from Cross River State; and Ken Madaki Alkali, from Nassarawa State.

Saad Abubukar, Gombe State; Professor S. F. Ogundare, Oyo State; and Ubolo Okpanachi from Kogi State, were the other members of the CCB inaugurated on Wednesday.

The 23 commissioners of the NPC sworn-in on were also confirmed by the Senate last month.

They were Nwanne Nwabusi, Abia State; Clifford Zirra, Adamawa State; Chidi Ezeoke, Anambra; Isa Buratai, Borno; Charles Ogwa, Cross River; Richard Odibo, Delta; Darlington Onuabuchi, Ebonyi; Olusegun Aiyejina, Edo; Ejike Eze, Enugu; Abubukar Danburam, Gombe; Uba Nnabue, Imo and Suleiman Lawal; Kano.

Others commissioners sworn in were Jimoh Isah, Kogi; Sa’adu Alanamu, Kwara; Nasir Kwarra, Nasarawa; Aliyu Datti, Niger; Seyi Olusanya, Ogun; Olanadiran Iyantan, Ondo; Mudasiru Hussain, Osun; Cecillia Dapoet, Plateau; Ipalibo Harry, Rivers; and Sale Saany, Taraba.

Source: Voice of Nigeria